Discover This: 5 Pieces by Jennifer Higdon

Posted on Updated on

2010 winner of the prestigious Pulitzer Prize for Music, a 2009 Grammy Award, in addition to awards by the Guggenheim Foundation and ASCAP, composer Jennifer Higdon is one of the most celebrated female American composers of today. Her neoromantic language and use of octatonic scales have made her music a favorite for performing artists across many compositional genres including: flute solo, mixed chamber, saxophone ensemble, percussion, choral, orchestral, vocal solo, wind ensemble and band. At present Higdon resides in Philadelphia and teaches composition at the Curtis Institute.

5 Pieces by Jennifer Higdon

1) An Exaltation of Larks for string quartet
2) Piano Trio
3) Concerto for Orchestra (2002)
4) Impressions for string quartet
5) Splendid Wood for percussion


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s